People Who Want To Volunteer, But Need Your Help

Volunteer banner

Support-A-Volunteer

For many people, the only thing holding them back from becoming an IMAlive volunteer responder is the cost of training and certification.

Donate to any of our registered IMAlive volunteers that show the “Support Me” badge and help them reach their goal to begin training.

Why I want to become an IMAlive volunteer:

imagevolunteer I want to help people in a way that actually makes a difference. I want to join IMAlive because people need someone there for them when they start feeling like they’re in a dark place where suicide is a possible option. Sometimes people don’t have someone there for them and that’s what places like this are for and they are infinitely important. https://www.imalive.org/dd5bfdeb

imagevolunteer I would like to support others if I can, to let them know someone cares and is listening. I want to be a IMAlive Volunteer because I’ve been in a place where I struggled with some not so great things. And it took me a long time to get to a better place in my life. It was hard, and still is hard, but with the support of some awesome people in my life I’m able to cope with things that happen. https://www.imalive.org/b04c387c

imagevolunteer In the past, I struggled with suicidal ideation. Now, I want to be that person I needed to hear from. I’ve made huge progress and am now a stable, healthy person with a desire to share my story and help others. I know from personal experience it’s possible to get through a hard time and to turn life around, and this is my opportunity to share that message and aid others on their own journey. https://www.imalive.org/7ec69dd4

imagevolunteer I, myself, have suffered with depression and have had many friends and family members who also suffer with depression. I truly believe the only way to combat this mental illness is to create an environment in which people feel comfortable reaching out for the help they need. I find peace and joy in helping create that environment for others. https://www.imalive.org/2548a4ac

imagevolunteer When I was about 10 years old I started feeling very sad. Fast forward about 2 years later, lots of stuff started happening in my life- my grandma got diagnosed with cancer, my uncle died, my parents were separating, my aunt got diagnosed with cancer, and a little girl I knew died of cancer. My world was shattered and I was left feeling more sad and depressed then I had ever before. When I was 13 I attempted suicide. I battled severe depression and life was a battle. From there, after I got on the right medication life was looking up. I persevered and I am now finishing up my last year of my undergraduate in psychology. I am applying to graduate schools for social work right now but I really want to spend some time volunteering and helping others through some of the same stuff I went through. This is why I would love to be an IMAlive Volunteer. https://www.imalive.org/05f17e3c

imagevolunteer I want to be a volunteer because I’ve been in that situation too many times in the past. Through my experience, I realized that having a person to vent or talk to can make a huge difference. I’ve always wanted to make people happy and bring joy to this world so I feel as if this is a great opportunity for me to do just that. The world today is pretty cruel and un-accepting and I strive to give that little piece of hope that the people reaching out desperately need. https://www.imalive.org/2be5f9c2

Read about many of our amazing and hopeful volunteers here: https://www.imalive.org/volunteer-support.php

YOU can make a difference with a single donation.
Your kindness to donate and support a volunteer to become an
Online Crisis Responder,
can help people in our world, live another day.

IMG_0148

Leave a Reply

