Our Volunteers Share Their Experience… Part 1

pizap.com14286011417872

๐ŸŒ I have been volunteering with IMAlive since 2012. This is a great organization dedicated to helping those in crisis who feel they have nowhere else to turn. The supervisors provide thorough training in the fundamentals of crisis intervention, and volunteers are certified before they start interacting with users of the site. My time working with this organization has been very fulfilling.

Melanieย ๐ŸŒ I have been working with IMAlive for only a short amount of time, and yet I have already experienced the full impact we can have on peoples lives. The last interaction I had with a person in crisis was truly one of the must humbling and positive experiences of my life. I honestly can’t wait to workย  with this great team of staff, who never fail to help and teach empathetically, for a very long time.

๐ŸŒI’ve been volunteering with IMAlive for 6 months now, and can honestly say being a part of this organization has changed my life so much for the better. The training is very thorough, and left me well prepared to start having conversations with people in crisis, and the supervisors are there every step of the way. I believe that being able to speak to an empathic listener in a time of crisis is so important, and IMAlive makes this possible in a very convenient and personal way by connecting two individuals over the internet. It is a great, very caring community to be a part of.

Matt S.

๐ŸŒI am a volunteer for IMAlive online crisis center. I am very proud of the service they provide for people that need someone to listen to their fears, concerns, hopes. We all have our own stories that make each of us ready to be there when another individual is struggling and feel like they have no where to go.
My son was the person that told me about IMAlive, he turned to them when he was in high school, he was suicidal, he attempted to take his life, he had lost hope. He is now a 21 year old, working hard to figure it all out. He is alive. Bryanna

๐ŸŒ I’ve spent over 300 hours volunteering with IMAlive now, and it has always been an incredible (and sometimes tough!) experience. The supervisors are always supportive. Also to make sure to invest in your skills so that your own confidence and ability to help others grows. I love the virtual crisis center model, it has made it so that I can continue to keep volunteering and helping others, even after moving across the country.

IMG_0148

Leave a Reply

