IMAlive Volunteers Speak About Coping Mechanisms

 

It might not be a bad idea to acknowledge that there are times where nothingYoung man with headache will work, but that it will actually pass. I know that when those times come, there isn’t a single, solitary thing that works, and when I read lists of things people do to ameliorate their pain they tend to piss me off rather than comfort. They make me feel like my pain is abnormal, need_helpthat those lists aren’t targeted towards people like myself, but rather those who have a hope of beating that darkness. Mind you, I am not in any way saying this to be a downer, but rather because I know I’m far from the only one that feels this way, and I know that some straight talk serves me better.

12362952_935004303257844_5391594052260680831_o

Sometimes even basic things are too much. There’s a quote I like that goes something like “It’s okay if the only thing you did today, was breathe”. Sometimes trying to feel better just can’t be done, and waiting it out is all we can do!

So I think it’s important to remember that there is actually a way for everyone to get through the darkest of feelings; that just like each of us there’s no cookie cutter mold.

 

IMG_0148

 

Leave a Reply

