Inside the Life of an IMAlive Volunteer

 

IMG_1004

Perry from MA, USA

FullSizeRender

As an undergraduate psychology major, I was involved with a campus organization that provided online peer support to anonymous students at my school, a similar concept to IMAlive. My friends and family have always been there for me when I needed them most, so I understand how important it can be to have someone to talk to, who will listen and support without judgment. Every one of us needs that at one point or another. But so many people struggle because they may not feel that they have the support they need, or because they may be afraid to reach out to find it. I found that volunteering in this way, by helping people to find the support they needed, was incredibly rewarding. After graduation, I started to feel like something was missing from my daily life. I eventually realized that what was missing was the opportunity to help others who were struggling. Luckily, I found IMAlive, which was the perfect way for me to develop my ability to help others, this time on a broader scale. In volunteering with IMAlive, I am able to use my skills and knowledge to help in a very tangible way. As an avid reader and writer, I have always appreciated the power of words to connect and inspire, but IMAlive has shown me that words can have the power to save a life.

In my spare time, I love circus arts! I can juggle, walk on a wire, and ride a unicycle, but my favorite circus apparatus is the Lyra (aerial hoop).

I am so glad I found this incredible organization to volunteer with, and I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone who is interested to make a difference in other people’s lives. The training process requires a lot of time and dedication, but becoming part of this amazing group is definitely worth it.

cropped-imalive-stamp

Leave a Reply

