Inside The Life of an IMAlive Volunteer

Jaymi

From Washington, USA

My name is Jaymi and I live in the beautiful State of Washington here in the United States. I am volunteering with IMAlive because it has been a lifelong dream of mine to help others in need where they feel alone, rejected, betrayed and consumed by fear and darkness. I have attempted suicide and  have thought about it seriously one other time. I have been through a lot in life, and many times I have attempted of making my dreams come true, only to hit one roadblock after another. I have borderline personality disorder, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, Anxiety and multiple health issues that makes it impossible for me to finish my schooling or to obtain a job, so volunteering where my passion is, is a way of saying that I made it.  I may not have made it in the traditional sense but my dream of helping others has become a reality.

One thing I have learned is that you have to accept who you are and realize that none of us choose to live this way. We do not choose to be depressed, to have anxiety or any other mental health issues; just as one does not choose to have cancer. Once I had come to this realization, I felt like I was less of a burden, and was able to speak out and get the help that I needed. Time heals, and for me facing my fears is what made me stronger; educating myself and what I could do to make myself feel better helped immensely. A positive attitude can go a long ways, and I knew as long as I kept my focus on that spark; that light at the end of that dark tunnel; things, in time, would become better; happier; and that I could use my voice to help others. This best thing I did for myself was to to take a break and get to know who I was, and who I want to be. I learned my value; my worth; my triggers; and my coping mechanisms.

Some may not know that I legally changed my name to give it more of a feminine touch. It’s a name to honor and respect my parents choice of naming me and even sounds the same. I love my Seahawks, lighthouses, waterfalls and hiking. I have 2 sons one of whom has Schizoaffective Disorder (Schizophrenia/Bi-Polar) as well as Asperger’s.
IMAlive is a family that understands what you are going through and loves you for your strengths and your weaknesses. I once had a supervisor ask me “How are you still alive?” I simply replied “Hope.” Even in your darkest hours there will always be that spark of light, as long as you strive to reach for it you will find that things. Always keep fighting and shoot for the moon, for even if you miss the moon you will land among the stars.
cropped-imalive-stamp
Leave a Reply

