Inside The Life of an IMAlive Volunteer

Karen

VIC / Australia

“Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light” – Albus Dumbledore

I first heard about IMAlive through Misha Collins (Castiel of Supernatural) and his charity Random Acts. As soon as I read that they were after Volunteers to help those in crisis, I jumped at the chance. I did some research on IMAlive and absolutely fell in love with what they did to help others and knew I had to be a part of it.

It has been an extraordinary adventure so far, every day I’m uplifted by what we do, and I am empowered to learn more and become a better responder. IMAlive have given me a whole new toolbox of skills in order to help those in need, which has also been invaluable in my everyday working life where I deal with people with high barriers to finding employment, including mental illness.

I have always been the friend that people can lean on, and talk to when in need. I’ve always been able to put my own problems to the side in order to help those around me. It’s not been an easy journey. I dealt with things in my teen years that I hope no teen has to go through, but It’s been embedded in me from my family to be a caring, respectful and a nurturing soul, and this is something I feel has grown since IMAlive came into my life and I’ve become stronger.

Every other Volunteer I’ve had the pleasure of dealing with has been so amazing. They all offer their ears for not only the person in crisis, but to each other, and IMAlive has now become an extended part of my family.

Many won’t know but if you ever got to meet me, you would see me as bubbly, friendly and someone who loves life. You wouldn’t look at me and think Gamer or IT nerd. But that I am. I love technology and have studied IT. I’m also creative and very artistic and love to paint and draw which I find helps my mental health when feeling low.

cropped-imalive-stamp

Leave a Reply

