Leaping into 2017

When a year comes to an end, many of us look back and reflect: on our achievements, on the moments that have brought us happiness but also on the pain that we have experienced. We try to treasure the positive moments and move past the pain. Many of us set resolutions for the new year trying to improve on the things that may have not gone our way in the past year. But what comes down is to hope, hope for the new year. Hoping that this will be our year because when the clock strikes midnight we get a new chance.

 

Here are some of our volunteers reflecting on 2016  and hoping for 2017:

 

I feel so thankful and lucky to have become a part of this amazing team. I’ve only been doing live shifts for a few months and I’m still nervous at the start of most chats but I know I’m in good hands with the supervisors and that there are a community of people I can talk to if I need. Being an IMAlive volunteer is really helping boost my confidence levels and giving me responsibilities that I know will help me in the future.

 

What I have learned since becoming an IMAlive volunteer: I have learned that hotlines do still exist and there is so much work to be done to lower the stigma.

 

What I hope to see in the New Year with IMAlive: I hope to see us available 24/7 so that we are able to help those in crisis around the clock in every area of the world.

 

Everyday we are given a new chance to start over, what happened yesterday was yesterday. Focus on the present and what you can do today to help your self feel better. Make plans, set goals. Every step is still a step taken, and although you may stumble and fall, it just means that you’re brave enough to continue to take those steps that you have begun. Don’t all that stumble or fall to get you off course. You can do this.

 

I’m a new volunteer and I have learned the importance of listening to people. Quite a few people that I’ve chatted with have mentioned that they cannot talk to their friends and family about their concerns. They truly seem grateful just to be able to chat with someone.

 

This past year has taught me a lot about myself and the people I surround myself with. I was shown that friendship is not limited by distance and that opening yourself up doesn’t scare the people away that care about you. I try to see every day as a new chance to learn and grow as a person and hope that the new year will allow me to do so even further. IMAlive has given me a chance to do exactly that. I will always be thankful for the life lessons I learn and about the caring and generous people I meet.
Leave a Reply

